Mission Statement

Master’s degree programs (those either fully or partially focused on composition and rhetoric), including those linked to PhD programs, serve a variety of needs for local and regional student populations. The Master’s Degree Consortium of Writing Studies Specialists, a Standing Group of the Conference on College Composition and Communication, serves as a clearinghouse and advocacy network to strengthen our programs, foster effective articulation between undergraduate, Master’s-only, and doctoral programs in writing studies, and improve visibility and resource sharing for MA/MS programs.

2014-2017 Officers


Rebecca Jackson, Texas State University, 2014-2017
Eric Leake, Texas State University, 2014-2017

Executive Board

I. Moriah McCracken, St. Edward’s University, 2012-2015
Lisa Meloncon, University of Cincinnati, 2012-2015
David Beard, University of Minnesota-Duluth, 2012-2016
Tricia Serviss, Auburn University, 2012-2016
Nikki Caswell, East Carolina University, 2012-2016
Stephanie Vie, University of Central Florida, 2014-2017
Susan Wolff Murphy, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi, 2014-2017

Website Coordinator

Jessie Miller, Eastern Michigan University, 2013-2015

Executive Board Alumni and Past Chairs

Jennifer Beech, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga, 2007-2010
André Buchenot, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, 2012-2014
Lanette Cadle, Missouri State University, 2012-2014
John S. Dunn, Jr., Eastern Michigan University (Former Co-Chair), 2011-2014
Heidi Estrem, Boise State University (Founding Chair), 2007-2010
Seth Kahn, West Chester University of Pennsylvania, 2007-2010
Derek Mueller, Eastern Michigan University (Former Co-Chair), 2011-2014
Peter Vandenberg, DePaul University (Former Chair), 2007-2011


Inaugural meeting of the Master’s Degree Consortium: 2007, New York City
Approved as a Standing Group: August 19, 2013