Standing Group Status and 2014 Elections

CCCC Officers notified the Master’s Degree Consortium of Writing Studies Specialists on August 19, 2013, that its application for Standing Group status (PDF) was approved.  Following the meeting in Las Vegas last March, Consortium Co-chairs John Dunn and Derek Mueller developed the Standing Group application over the summer, including with it evidence of a steady presence in the CCCC program over more than five years and a roster of institutions identified as having MA/MS programs related to writing. The Standing Group designation means the Consortium will continue to have its annual business meeting at CCCC and will be eligible to submit a special panel proposal to the program chair each year. Consortium board members must be NCTE members. The Consortium also must provide an annual report to the officers within 30 days of CCCC. Further information about CCCC Standing Groups is available online at

Looking ahead to next March’s meeting on Wednesday, March 19, from 6:30-8:30 p.m. in Indianapolis, Consortium members will be electing a new chair from the Executive Board for a three-year term. Members will also elect two new Executive Board members. If you are interested in serving a three-year term on the Executive Board, please send your name, institutional affiliation and appointment, email address, and a 50-word statement about your candidacy to Derek Mueller at no later than Monday, February 3, 2014.